Brewton, Al 36426
Atmore, Al 36502
The Tax Collector.s Office is responsible
|Collecting all Real Estate Property
|Taxes are due October
|Taxes are delinquent January
Motor Vehicle Titles
|Fee for Title Application is
Motor Vehicle Registrations Renewal
|A's and D's - January
||I's and M's - June
|B's - February
||P's and L's - July
|C's and E's - March
||J's, K's and R's - August
|F's, G's and N's - April
||Q's, O's and T's - September
|H's and O's - May
||U - Z - October
Collecting Ad valorem on Motor Vehicles and
|1. Ad valorem Taxes for personal vehicles
are based on 15% of the value
which, is calculated by the
State of Alabama. Recreational vehicles,
motorcycles and vehicles
used for commercial purposes are taxed at 30%.
Manufactured Home Registrations:
|1. Our office has a Mobile Home Inspector
to check Decals.
Sales and use tax on Motor Vehicles and
A registration courtesy
reminder is mailed for each vehicle that is currently
registered in Escambia
County. The reminders are mailed the first few days of
each renewal month.
Although these courtesy reminders are mailed, it is still
the responsibility of the
vehicle owner to make sure the vehicle is registered
and fees paid. Please
bring your courtesy reminder or last registration with
you when renewing. The
driver license number of the owner of record is also
Vehicles can be renewed via
the mail. Mail the reminders along with a check or
money order and (be sure to
include the $2.00 mail fee for each vehicle) to the
address shown on reminder
cards. Be sure to have the owner of record sign the
cards and include their
driver license number. In order for the renewal to be
processed via the mail
renewal card and payment must be in our office by the last
working day of the month.
Vehicles that are renewed
late are subject to a $15.00 late fee, plus applicable
interest according to state
law. Vehicles not driven during the expiration/renewal
month may sign an affidavit
of non-use. This affidavit exempts the customer from
late penalty. All ad
valorem tax must be brought current regardless of use of
NEW RESIDENTS FROM ANOTHER
Residents moving from
another Alabama county will need to bring in the renewal
or the previous year.s
registration in order toobtain Escambia County plates. You
wait until your renewal
month to switch the registration.
NEW/USED VEHICLES VEHICLE
- PER CODE OF ALABAMA
RULING 810-5-5.13, a physical inspection of a motor vehicle
and verify the vehicle
identification number and the descriptive data shown on the
application is required
first certificates of title, including certificates of
for the following:
Vehicles- Application for first title.
State Vehicles- Brought into Alabama requiring registration
and title in this State
surrendering of out -of-state title.
Vehicles- Not currently titled in Alabama and subject
to registration and titling
in the State.
Beginning June 1, 2000,
motorists will be required to carry liability insurance on
each motor vehicle. Proof
of insurance is not required to register a motor vehicle.
Beginning January 1, 2001,
an insurance certification was incorporated into the
registration form which the
customer signs before registration is complete.
In order to avoid a $15.00
late registration fee, newly acquired vehicles must be
registered within 20
calendar days of purchase.
Documentation needed for
the purchase of a new/used vehicle depends on who the
vehicle was purchased.
Customers with vehicles
purchased from an Alabama Dealer, the application for
title and bill of sale are
Customer with vehicles
purchased from out of state dealers will be required to pay
sales tax and possibly a
title for the vehicle.
Customer with vehicles
purchased from an individual will be required to pay sales
tax and apply for a title
if vehicle was last registered in Alabama and ad valorem
will have to be brought
current before the vehicle can be registered.
manufactured homes, 1990 and newer models require a title
Certificate of Origin (MCO). All models require a bill of
sale. You have 30
days from purchase date in
which to register your manufactured home without a penalty.
You can be penalized if the
manufactured home decal is not displayed properly. Citation
are $15.00. If not paid
within 15 days, an additional $24.00 penalty will be
additional information on
manufactured homes call (251) 867-0299.
Before a manufactured home
may be moved on the highways of Alabama, a Move Permit
must be obtained from the
office of the Tax Collector. One fee of $10.00 will be
for the moving of each
manufactured home (regardless of the number of
modules to be moved). Proof
of payment of any applicable property taxes or the current
registration fee, issuance
fee, and any applicable penalties shall be required before
move permit will be issued.
This move shall be in addition to any other move permits
by law. This move permit
satisfies the requirement under the revenue manufactured
home laws only.